Home > Windows 8 1 > Windows 8.1 Preview With Fake Start Button

Windows 8.1 Preview With Fake Start Button

The start button may have been removed from the taskbar but it’s not gone, it’s just hidden and moved a half inch to the left bottom corner. Why should I be forced to click more places to power down than sleep a computer? If you want more, you're out of luck. I don't like things because of their "cool factor" and to assume that I do is rather presumptuousness on your part.

The other big item which has been nagging users of Windows 8 has been a lack of a way to boot straight to desktop mode. I don't have a problem with change - when it makes sense. This refers to Workstations and Notebooks in business environments. I just don't want to use it when I am on a desktop computer without a touch screen.

Win8 with the Modern UI aside is a much improved Win7 and if not having a classic start menu pains you so much just add a new toolbar with "C:ProgramDataMicrosoftWindowsStart MenuPrograms" Arash Jafari I've been with Windows since 3.1 and have run all of'em except ME. I think half of the people complaining about it have never used it and just read the reviews on it. Windows and the Start Button in Customization I want to know if its possible to have the start button installed and still have the window key take you back to metro

  1. The Start Menu replaced the Start Button — a full screen menu replaced the task of a tiny application launcher.
  2. Unsurprisingly, many Windows 8 adopters are fairly disappointed with Microsofts own way to address customer feedback, claiming that the new Start button is an insult to everyones intelligence. Users: The Windows
  3. Contact Us Windows 7 Support Privacy and cookies Legal Top Windows 7 Forums - Windows Vista Forums - Windows 10 Forums The Windows 8 Forums is an independent web site
  4. Not what is something that needs a day or two to get used to.
  5. ProgrammingKnowledge2 925,795 views 3:41 RIP Windows XP(ROBLOX) - Duration: 1:05.
  6. My System Specs You need to have JavaScript enabled so that you can use this ...
  7. Having shtudown/restart on the new start menu is long overdue.

Windows XP was highly criticized when it first came out, and I have had countless customers asking me whether they could make Windows 7 look like Windows 2000 because their users I'm supposed to use huge blocks across my THREE 27" LED flat panels? Check this box for the classic interface. Eesh I thought when we left DOS those days were gone forever.

Step one is to change from the default Start Screen to the App View. I remember seeing blogs on "how to restart Windows 8/2012". Bill Cardiff How do you think they listened to their users??? https://techcrunch.com/2013/06/26/windows-8-1s-start-button-isnt-a-start-button/ Win key + X shows a LOT more than the Start Menu ever did. 3 years ago Reply Brett Sayles Does anyone know how to completely disable Start?

Loading... Touch screens are fine for kiosks, not for business users. being a statisical analyst and all. Working...

You can set up a 4 digit numeric PIN to unlock, and you can also set it to not require a password to unlock at all except at initial login (boot http://betanews.com/2013/06/26/new-windows-8-1-start-button-boot-to-desktop-already-in-the-wild/ That working or not would at least show you whether the problem is in the menu or in the shortcuts. 3 years ago Reply Joao Sousa Botto Rockney, I don't believe I installed windows 8 on my parents(70's) computer and showed them how to pin the apps they use most often and they have no problems either. If only a selection of these icons are displayed on the Windows 8 Start screen, what is it that determines which of the 4 is displayed? 47 years ago Reply Greg

http://www.facebook.com/rubecker Robiara Ubiratan Becker Stop feeding this f** troll. JrTech 827,513 views 2:39 First look at Windows 8.1 - Duration: 4:31. I believe win8 is prime to capitalize on this intuitive gesture and to my great surprise it truly change the way you interact with your device. http://www.facebook.com/xxcorpxx Chris Woodward Exactly!

They should've gone for an *almost* full screen start menu that still showed the windows beneath it around the edges and the taskbar left visible, problem solved. Keep in mind that making character assassinations as your opening statement just minimizes the worth of anything else you say. MS should stick to what it does best (sort of) - desktop/laptop OSes. Windows 8 runs like a champ — noticeable better than Windows 7.

Again, I am fairly certain it will function similarly in the 8.1 preview this week. The options you speak of aren’t necessary because third parties have provided numerous options just for that. Many of the responses here include "use third party tools".

Related Articles Microsoft slashes price of Surface RT tablet to £279 15 Jul 2013 Xbox One hands-on 24 Jun 2013 Microsoft Office launched for iPhones 14 Jun 2013 Microsoft to give

Last Jump to page: The Windows 8.1 Preview Start Button Is an Insult to... « Previous Thread | Next Thread » Forum Windows 8 Forums Windows 8 News The Windows 8.1 I could go on and on. AdamWL That includes you, your sentence is hard to read. We like things the way they are.

Most people can't get the simple concept of creating a shortcut, throwing this mess at them will just drive them to something easier… like a mac… of course after they take The Start Screen was initially designed to always be customized by the end user, and for Windows 8.1 we acted on the customer feedback and made it possible for companies to http://www.facebook.com/ronald.stepp Ronald Stepp I guess that's why lots of power users still prefer XP to Windows 7, Steve Gibson of grc.com comes to mind, though he is slowly thawing towards Windows When you tap a tile it should open the corresponding application.

WHATS THE BIG PROBLEM?THATS JUST GREAT IF YOU LIKE,DONT LIKE,ACCEPT,DONT ACCEPT. We don't see this as a problem, but we understand that this implementation will not fit everyone's needs. Why so few choices? I notice the Windows 8.1 right-click start menu has gone with the XP style sub-menu.

Or, more accurately, not REMOVE them in the first place? I didn't like it on my desktop, but its not designed for desktop. I've been using Windows since the early 1990s. What is definitely a benefit is the quick boot time on a UEFI based machine.

http://www.facebook.com/ronald.stepp Ronald Stepp We're not headed towards touch on the desktop anymore than we are headed for a mouse on tablets and phones. The Windows 8.1 Preview is available for download beginning today. For some reason, despite the aforementioned series of updates over the last two years that are meant to make Windows 8 more user friendly for mouse-and-keyboard users, Microsoft is still forcing I think it’s better to install something if needed than to uninstall all this App trash.